MINUTES OF THE 87th ANNUAL MEETING OF THE MEMBERS OF EAU CLAIRE ENERGY COOPERATIVE MARCH 19, 2024

The 87th regular annual meeting of the members of the Eau Claire Energy Cooperative (ECEC) was called to order by the Board Chair Mr. Andrew Bourget, at 6:00 p.m. at The Florian Gardens at 2340 Lorch Avenue in Eau Claire, WI on March 19, 2024.

WELCOME & SAFETY MOMENT

Mr. Bourget welcomed everyone to the annual meeting. He also provided several key safety messages that included emergency routes in case of severe weather or fire and the location of an A.E.D. in case of a medical emergency.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE & ANTHEM

Mr. Bourget introduced Jamie Gerike. Ms. Gerike sang the National Anthem. Mr. Bourget asked that everyone remain standing while Youth Ambassadors Nora Camlek, Abigail Turk, Owen Rozeboom, and Alyssa Wirth led attendees in the Pledge of Allegiance.

INTRODUCTIONS & SPECIAL RECOGNITION

The Board of Directors, CEO Monica Obrycki, Attorney John Hibbard, and Corporate Secretary Jeni Thorpe were introduced to those attending the meeting.

Mr. Bourget introduced the recipients of the \$1,000 Federated Youth Foundation scholarships and asked that they stand and be recognized. Mr. Bourget also asked the members of the Member Advisory Council to stand and be recognized.

MEETING AGENDA AND MEETING RULES

Mr. Bourget went through housekeeping items noting that the meeting agenda and rules were published in the March 2024 issue of the WEC News magazine mailed to all members and available on tables in the room tonight. He also noted that the Notice of the Annual Meeting was published in the same issue of the WEC News magazine. The Affidavit of Mailing was posted behind the registration tables. Mr. Bourget also stated that member questions will be taken after completing the business portion of this meeting.

OFFICER'S REPORTS

The reports of the Board Chair, CEO, and Secretary-Treasurer were published in the March 2024 WEC News magazine and are also available on tables in the room tonight.

QUORUM

To constitute a quorum, at least 50 members must register and attend. Mr. Bourget was informed that there were 167 voting members registered and in attendance, which constituted a quorum. Mr. Bourget then declared the meeting open for business.

PARLIAMENTARIAN

Mr. Bourget appointed Attorney John Hibbard to act as the parliamentarian for this meeting.

CALL AND NOTICE, AFFIDAVIT OF MAILING, MINUTES

A motion was made to dispense with the reading of the Notice of Meeting, the Affidavit of Mailing and the Minutes, and to approve them as published in the 2024 Annual Report. The motion was seconded and carried.

The nominating committee is comprised of one member from each Cooperative district that is up for election. The following individuals served on the nominating committee for this year's election: Larry Sturz, Mona Mathews, and Wilson Lund.

DIRECTOR CANDIDATES

Mr. Bourget then turned the meeting over to the attorney, Mr. John Hibbard. Mr. Hibbard explained the Cooperative's nomination process. He explained the efforts that are made to seek out candidates and stated that despite the Cooperative's best efforts along with the nominating committee's efforts, this year there was no opposition to the incumbents in each district. Since there was no opposition, based on the bylaws, there will be no vote and all directors are elected by acclamation.

Mr. Hibbard introduced each of the Director candidates for Districts 2, 4, and 6, as follows:

<u>District No. 2</u> Mike Golat (Incumbent); unopposed

<u>District No. 4</u> Judi Anibas (Incumbent); unopposed

<u>District No. 6</u> Frank Neibauer (Incumbent); unopposed

Each candidate present was given the opportunity to address the membership for three minutes, which each candidate did. Acclamation by applause followed each address. Mr. Hibbard then offered the membership the chance to speak on behalf of any candidates for a time period of up to three minutes each, with a maximum time of ten minutes. No members spoke.

At this time, the attorney turned the meeting back over to the Chair. The Chair stated that the organizational meeting of the Board of Directors is scheduled for March 27, 2024 at the Cooperative headquarters.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

Mr. Bourget reminded the members of the rules of the meeting, which were published in the March 2024 issue of the WEC News magazine as part of the 2024 Annual Report. The rules of the meeting were also available to members in the meeting room tonight. He asked the members if there was any unfinished business. There was none.

NEW BUSINESS

Mr. Bourget introduced and recognized the Concern for Community Award recipients, Dale, Sandy, and Kayla Pocernich. The recipients were nominated because of their extensive dedication of the community by annually baking and decorating over 7,000 Christmas cookies and donating them to local organizations.

Mr. Bourget turned the floor over to CEO Monica Obrycki to discuss the efforts of Eau Claire Energy Cooperative to provide reliable power to the members. She noted that there are details of ECEC's reliability efforts in the annual report. Ms. Obrycki introduced Mr. Brent Ridge, President and CEO of Dairyland Power Cooperative. Mr. Ridge provided an overview of Dairyland Power, its strategic goals, generation mix, reliability efforts, and projects such as the Nemadji Trail Energy Center and Cardinal Hickory Transmission line.

Mr. Bourget then addressed the membership and asked if there was any new business to come before the membership. Hearing none, he declared the business session closed and turned the floor to Ms. Obrycki for the question and answer session of the meeting.

QUESTION AND ANSWER SESSION

Ms. Obrycki explained that she would first answer signed questions that had been deposited in the question box. Member questions consisted of topics regarding terrorist attacks on power plants and substations, overhead and underground line conversions, nuclear waste, hydropower, wind turbines, solar, battery storage, and more. Ms. Obrycki also encouraged all members to contact her, or any of the management staff, if they have any questions in the future.

CHAIR'S THANK YOU

Mr. Bourget thanked the members, the Cooperative employees, The Florian Gardens staff, scholarship recipients, Youth Ambassadors, and the Member Advisory Council in attendance for making the 87th annual meeting of the Cooperative a success. He announced that the 88th annual meeting of the Cooperative will be held on March 18, 2025 at The Florian Gardens.

ADJOURN

Mr. Bourget requested a motion to adjourn the 87th Annual Meeting. That motion was made, seconded, and carried, and the meeting adjourned at 7:29 p.m.

PRIZES AWARDED

Ms. Obrycki invited the members to stay for dinner after the announcement of the prize winners. Winners received \$100.00 in cash. The cash prize winners are: Avery Burton Jr., Melvin Flanders, Dennis Scheuermann, Audrey Roecker, Karen Lind, Gavin McCann, Tobie Matherne, Gary Hetchler, Regina Mauer, and Nora Camlek.

Judith Anibas, Secretary